Types of Visas

In general, all types of visas are issued by representation authoritiesGerman text abroad. The issuing of a visa or a legitimate visa extension by national authorities or the issuing of a visa by some border inspection posts is only permitted in clearly defined exceptional cases.

Further information on applying for a visa for third-country nationals can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

A Visa: Air Transit Visa

Generally foreigners who do not leave the transit zone or the plane during a stop-over on an airfield are not subject to the visa requirement.

However, citizens of some countries require an A visa for passing through an Austrian airfield unless they are exempt. The visa requirements for each country can be found in the list of visa requirements. In general, A visas may not be issued in Austria. No matter what the reason, it is impossible to have a visa issued at the border.

C Visa: Travel Visa

This is the conventional tourist visa. It can be issued for durations of stay up to 90 days (in total) within a period of 180 days and entitles the visa holder to enter into and stay in the territory of the Schengen states.

Schengen states are the following ones: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden as well as the non-EU members Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

D Visa: Residence Visa

In general, D visas entitle to a stay of between 91 days and six months. In exceptional cases D visas can be valid for stays of up to 12 months (e.g. on the basis of an international treaty) or for stays less than 91 days (extension of the visa by national authorities).

A (national) D visa that is issued by Austria or another Schengen state in combination with a valid travel document entitles the visa holder to move freely across the other Schengen states' territory for up to 90 days within a period of 180 days, provided that the visa applicant fulfils the entry conditions laid down in article 6 (1) (a), (c) and (e) of the Schengen Borders Code and provided his or her name is not on the national list of alerts of the respective member state.

Outside of Austria, D visas can only be issued by Austrian representation authorities. A foreign authority in another Schengen state that represents Austria can only issue Schengen visas. If a D visa is required, the visa applicant may apply to an Austrian representation authorityGerman text in a neighbouring state.

For further information, please contact the Federal Ministry of the Interior, department V/7 by phone: 01/531 26-3557 (from 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.).
Last update: 24.03.2021
Please note
Approved by
oesterreich.gv.at Editorial Staff
Rate this page
Was this information useful? *: